driving time

loser teen driver

This isn’t my girl driving. Thank god.

My oldest is 15 and a reluctant driving student. I coerce her to take me a few blocks every few days, but it ain’t easy. Actually, I think it’s less about fear and more about “why bother?”. She’s got her phone and computer to keep in touch with her friends, along with a family network who will drive her to social engagements, school and athletic practices.

Back in my day, old lady Lisa had to figure out some of those things herself. There was certainly no internet for communication with friends, and the only people who had phones were millionaires who carried them in 10-lb bags. I was responsible for driving myself to athletic practices and games, and had driving duty for taking my little sister to school.

Leave a Reply

